Introducing suityou01

• 2 Replies
Introducing suityou01
« on: December 09, 2022, 12:43:33 AM »
Hello folks,

I am a UK resident who frequents the local Stand In The Park (SITP) and one of our members is a Flat Earther. I have long parked the flat earth debate as something to look into later, and it seems that now is the time that I am ready and have the time to look into this more formally. That said, I would have to say that any preliminary enquiries and or questions I have posed have left me rather nonplussed. For example I have enquired how satellites work and been told they hang in the stratosphere from balloons.

I try to keep an open mind, and am always respectful of other viewpoints, but I have to confess that my initial viewpoint is leaning towards skeptic, almost certainly because of these initial interactions. That is not to say that I am disparaging of the SITP member, who earnestly believes what they are telling me, it's just that I cannot go there mentally or intellectually without further proof.

My initial round of questions were around how do satellites and the ISS work? What flightpath does the ISS take? How does the Perseid meteor shower work? What happens if you fly in a straight line until you reach the edge, do you end up in outer space?

So you get where I am coming from, I hope? I thought maybe I could join here and ask my quesions (and search for answers already given so as not to waste people's time) without haranguing my more SITP member.

Nice to meet you all.

Suity

Space Cowgirl

• MOM
  • Administrator
  • Official FE Recruiter
Re: Introducing suityou01
« Reply #1 on: December 09, 2022, 06:45:34 AM »
Hello suity, welcome to the FES.
I'm sorry. Am I to understand that when you have a boner you like to imagine punching the shit out of Tom Bishop? That's disgusting.

Jura-Glenlivet II

• Flat Earth Inquisitor
  • Will I still be perfect tomorrow?
Re: Introducing suityou01
« Reply #2 on: December 09, 2022, 08:38:12 AM »