day light

• 4 Replies
day light
« on: February 25, 2019, 12:01:18 PM »
why the daylight is changing, and how in every country the daylight is different?

thank you

John Davis

• Secretary Of The Society
  • Administrator
  • Most Prolific Scientist, 2019
Re: day light
« Reply #1 on: February 25, 2019, 01:41:05 PM »
The sun illuminates a particular portion of the earth at any time of day due to its path (roughly a circle following near the equator depending on time of year and other variables). It does not light the entire earth as air is not a vacuum and thus scatters light.
Quantum Ab Hoc

« Reply #2 on: February 27, 2019, 11:59:26 AM »
I'm new to FE so I don't quite understand this. If air scatters light from the Sun, then the light from the sun doesn't stay focused like, say, from a laser pointer. Instead, the light spreads out (is scattered) in every direction, like light from a regular light bulb. So the Sun circling around above the Earth wouldn't be like a spotlight shining only on one part of the Earth but would be scattered all around by the air, right?

Now I thought of a simple experiment which anyone can do at home in the nighttime to study this. (See link to my illustration of the experiment below.)

Say you turn the light on in one room (Room A), then you leave that room and go into an adjoining room (Room B), keeping the door open between the rooms. (Experiment Step 1 in my illustration.) Now, you turn off the light in the next room (B.)  Okay, so you are now in the other room (B) with the light off but the light is still on in the first room (A). So it's much darker in room B without a light, but even though you can't see the lamp in the other room (A) directly since you are at the spot marked "X" you can still see around the room B a little bit because some light is scattered through the door from Room A to Room B. (Experiment Step 2.)