Flat Earth

• 28 Replies
Flat Earth
« on: February 07, 2015, 10:05:44 AM »
I am new to this way of thinking, and am sick of the lies spread by science. What is the theory behind flat earth theory?

sceptimatic

• Flat Earth Scientist
Re: Flat Earth
« Reply #1 on: February 07, 2015, 11:50:09 AM »
I am new to this way of thinking, and am sick of the lies spread by science. What is the theory behind flat earth theory?
What do you believe to be the lies spread by science?

ausGeoff

« Reply #2 on: February 19, 2015, 11:47:00 AM »

No "lies" have ever been deliberately spread by science with any devious intent.  Quite often, throughout history, scientists and their scientific theories of the day have been discredited and disproved.  But that's the vary nature of science; it's continually questioning its own theories, and every new hypothesis is rigorously peer-reviewed specifically to investigate any errors.  By the time that it's been reviewed, sometimes over a period of years, it's then accepted as theory.

But... if a new discovery subsequently renders that theory even slightly inaccurate, or questionable, then the theory will be modified after again undergoing stringent peer review to confirm its new status.  Whenever a new scientific hypothesis is proposed, scientists attempt to disprove the hypothesis.  They do not try to prove it. 

And this is where and why most flat earthers make their major mistake.  They constantly attempt to prove their hypothesesórather than trying to disprove them.

Say one of the FEs proposes that the moon is self-illuminating, or luminescent.  Which is fair enough; it could be.  But then instead of attempting to disprove thisóby investigating all the potentialities from a scientific standpointóthey attempt to prove it purely from a philosophical or metaphysical standpoint, and without the involvement of any scientific methodology at all.