I'm curious...

• 21 Replies
I'm curious...
« on: December 13, 2012, 04:05:43 PM »
Hello!
I'm a ninth grade student. Nice to meet you.
In socials today, our teacher mentioned the Flat Earth Society while talking about European Exploration. Anyways, I've always been interested in alternative theories, so I decided to take a look.
Could anyone bother to explain the basis of how it works, and some simple evidence that opposes how most people view earth?
By no means am I trying to offend anyone; I'm genuinely curious.
Thanks a lot!  :)l

Tom Bishop

• Flat Earth Believer
Re: I'm curious...
« Reply #1 on: December 13, 2012, 04:12:25 PM »
Basis of how it works: The earth is flat.

Simple evidence: Look out your window.

?

Thork

« Reply #2 on: December 13, 2012, 04:13:34 PM »
Start with the FAQ.

That will give you the basics, Then ask about anything you think doesn't makes sense or wasn't explained to your satisfaction.

« Reply #3 on: December 13, 2012, 04:23:34 PM »
Most of it makes sense, but when I look out a window in an airplane right before it goes into the layer of clouds, the earth looks distinctly curved. Also, during amusement park rides, where you're upside down at a high altitude, the sky looks concave and the earth round. Why is that?
Also, does flat earth spin? Sorry for so many questions.

Rushy

« Reply #4 on: December 13, 2012, 08:08:19 PM »
Most of it makes sense, but when I look out a window in an airplane right before it goes into the layer of clouds, the earth looks distinctly curved.

The horizon looks curved. Not the Earth. Simple math can show that curvature of any real significance on an object the size of the Earth would only be visible from 80,000ft+ in the air. Thus, if the Earth were round, you still would see no real curvature from any commercial aircraft.

Also, during amusement park rides, where you're upside down at a high altitude, the sky looks concave and the earth round. Why is that?