What would it take to make you stop believing in FET?

• 61 Replies
What would it take to make you stop believing in FET?
« on: June 12, 2012, 08:55:35 AM »
I'm going to come out and say that I'm not an FET proponent. I'm a physicist and it flies in the face of, well, basically everything I know. I'm not here to make fun, I'm not here to incite anger, I'm here to ask what specific evidence would you, personally, accept that would shun your beliefs in FET? If someone proved to you that the moon were actually ~240000 miles away instead of 3000, would that do it? If someone were to take you into orbit and you personally saw that you could only see ~1/2 of the planet's landmass in one go, would that do it? If neither of those, what would?

Thanks for your time.

Re: What would it take to make you stop believing in FET?
« Reply #1 on: June 12, 2012, 09:06:11 AM »
These people dont really believe that the earth is flat. They simply argue that the earth is flat to improve their debate skills, but you'll never hear that from them.

Son of Orospu

• Jura's b*tch and proud of it!
  • Planar Moderator
  • I have artificial intelligence
« Reply #2 on: June 12, 2012, 10:05:29 AM »
Despite LolaBunny's mockery and closed mindedness, TFES is actually open to all theories, both conventional and alternative, to describe the physics of the Earth and the universe. 

The question as to what would it take to convince me that Earth is spherical is a little hard to answer.  It would be like me asking you what it would take to convince you that red is really green.  You could try to convince to me that the moon landings were real, I suppose.  Or, you could prove to me that the government has never lied to me.  I really do not know for sure what would convince me of anything that I have not been convinced of before now.