A few quick questions

• 6 Replies
A few quick questions
« on: April 11, 2012, 06:22:54 PM »
This has probably been asked before, but I am new to Flat Earth Theory so I have a few quick questions.  If the earth is flat how far do theorists propose a person would have to drill into the ground before they reach outer space?  Also in the theory is flat taken literally; is the Earth believed to be two dimensional?  If not, what shape does the theory suggest the earth actually is?  Thanks for the help!

Tausami

• Head Editor
  • Flat Earth Editor
  • Venerated Official of the High Zetetic Council
Re: A few quick questions
« Reply #1 on: April 11, 2012, 07:00:49 PM »
This has probably been asked before, but I am new to Flat Earth Theory so I have a few quick questions.  If the earth is flat how far do theorists propose a person would have to drill into the ground before they reach outer space?  Also in the theory is flat taken literally; is the Earth believed to be two dimensional?  If not, what shape does the theory suggest the earth actually is?  Thanks for the help!

We have absolutely no idea how thick the Earth is, but it's probably quite. And obviously it isn't two dimensional; that wouldn't make sense. It's approximately a cylinder according to most theories.

« Reply #2 on: April 11, 2012, 07:04:42 PM »

We have absolutely no idea how thick the Earth is, but it's probably quite. And obviously it isn't two dimensional; that wouldn't make sense. It's approximately a cylinder according to most theories.
To clarify that 'no idea', I would point out the Davis model predicts its depth given an expected FE density.

An infinite slab has depth too...
I wonder if the depth is infinite too. You can't know in any way that.

In Johns model of FE gravity, that's impossible...