So, this is my first time here....

• 59 Replies
So, this is my first time here....
« on: October 26, 2011, 02:24:09 AM »
And I have to say that the Flat-Earth hypothesis seems rather.... far-fetched.

Very few pieces of concrete evidence support. And I've read the FAQ... all of the "evidence" there seems rather contrived. I'm sorry, but the evidence for a round earth is so overwhelmingly more profuse, succinct, and comprehensive what you've got going here.

There are a few points I'd bring up. And for the purposes of this post, second-person "you" is referring to a supporter of the flat-earth hypothesis:

-You maintain that the earth is a flat disk. What is the thickness of this disk? What is on the reverse side of this disk? What forces hold the disk in this shape? People who know the know the earth is round can tell you the Earth's radius, it's core composition, and that the force of gravity means that the most stable shape for all celestial objects is a sphere.

-You say that day and night is caused by the sun circling above the disk that is the earth, and that seasons are caused by the regular expanding and contracting of its path. We know that day and night on all other planets are caused by rotation of a spherical body. In a flat earth model, you would have to explain what forces keeps the sun rotating indefinitely, what forces cause the radius of the sun's path to oscillate regularly, why the sun does not fall to earth, and why the sun with its own gravitational field which keeps all other planets in the solar system has no effect on the Earth