Airplanes ?

• 22 Replies
Airplanes ?
« on: June 18, 2011, 07:22:23 AM »
Hey !

I've just read that :
Q: "How come the travel time by air from South America to New Zealand, via the polar route, is SHORTER than the travel time going North first and then South again?"

A: The airline pilots are guided by their GPS. Remember that satellites do not exist. The replacement data given from pseudolites deliberately throwing distorting all the paths to make it the flights take different times. The curvature of these paths can add or subtract great distances without the overall turning being obvious to someone traveling it.

Since when airline pilots are guided by their GPS ?
As a private pilot, i'm quite aware of how airplane generally use GPS. In fact, GPS is generally only use as a check device (only very recent GPS are certified for being us as a primary nav device).
Their are using generally inertial systems do calculate their position. I guess you will tell me that the calculus behind that are facked...
Even if it's the case, how Lindbergh possibly travel accross the Atlantic in 1927 ? I hardly beleive that he calculates his way to Paris considering the Earth is flat...

Thanks !

?

sillyrob

• Official Member
  • Punk rawk.
Re: Airplanes ?
« Reply #1 on: June 18, 2011, 07:38:10 AM »
He was obviously part of the conspiracy  ::).

« Reply #2 on: June 18, 2011, 07:43:15 AM »
He was obviously part of the conspiracy  ::).

Is that also true for every single pilot that worked in airline company before, let's say, 1990/5 ? (GPS was introduce in Army in around 1990).

?

Mrs. Peach

• Official Member
« Reply #3 on: June 18, 2011, 07:43:35 AM »

Even if it's the case, how Lindbergh possibly travel accross the Atlantic in 1927 ? I hardly beleive that he calculates his way to Paris considering the Earth is flat...

Thanks !